Skip to main content

You've searched: All Collections

  • All fields: 1852
(30 results)



Display: 20

    • Andrus and Tyler Islands, Lower Sacramento River, California

    • 1930
    • This circa 1930 photograph shows high waters between both Andrus and Taylor Islands along the Sacramento River Delta. The seven thousand acre Andrus Island was named after George Andrus who settled the area in 1852. By the dawn of the...
    • BBSAC722
    • The Hub Hotel and Tavern

    • 1957
    • Taken in 1957, this photograph shows the weathered facades of the Hub Hotel and Tavern at 224 J Street and the Lincoln Room at 226 J Street. The building housing the Hub was erected by wholesale merchant and Kentuckian Edward P. Figg after the...
    • 19
    • Themis

    • March 21, 1889
    • Founded and edited by a talented team of newspapermen, educators, lawyers with political savvy and clout, Themis was envisioned as a completely independent journal offering counsel and providing access to justice and law. A literary journal with...
    •  
    • Crocker Art Gallery, Sacramento, California

    • 1980
    • This circa 1980 postcard shows the Crocker Art Gallery at Second and O streets, as seen from Third Street. The gallery provides stands as the most robust symbol of the Crocker legacy and a Sacramento saga that started with Edwin and Margaret...
    • BBSAC170
    • Themis

    • February 24, 1889
    • Founded and edited by a talented team of newspapermen, educators, lawyers with political savvy and clout, Themis was envisioned as a completely independent journal offering counsel and providing access to justice and law. A literary journal with...
    •  
    • K Street:  126 through 128

    • 1960
    • Photo of Wicht Extract and Syrup Company at 126 K Street, taken 1960. The adjacent Fuller and Heather building at 128 K Street dates back to 1852.
    • 308
    • Sacramento County Courthouse - About 1900

    • 1912
    • The first Sacramento County Courthouse at the corner of Seventh and I Streets was completed in time for Christmas in 1851. The structure served the California State Legislature during 1852 and 1854 before it burned to the ground during a fire that...
    • BBSAC116
    • Greetings from Sacramento "Camellia Capital of the World"

    • 1955
    • This circa 1955 postcard shows one of Sacramento's defining symbols, the camellia. It is believed that the first camellia came to Sacramento in 1852 and, by the early 1900s, the Capital City started to be referred to as "The Camellia City."...
    • BBSAC771
    • Themis

    • April 7, 1889
    • Founded and edited by a talented team of newspapermen, educators, lawyers with political savvy and clout, Themis was envisioned as a completely independent journal offering counsel and providing access to justice and law. A literary journal with...
    •  
    • The Review, 1942

    • 1942-01-01
    • Sacramento High School is located at 2315 Thirty-Fourth Street in Sacramento, California. Founded just one week after San Francisco’s Lowell High School opened its doors in mid-August 1856, “Sac High” has matured into the second oldest high...
    •  
    • K Street, 224-230

    • 1960
    • The corner of K Street at Ninth is occupied by Leon's Club, a tavern (228 K Street), Dave's Mens Wear (230 K Street) on the street level, the Hotel St. Claire (228 K Street), El Prado Hotel (226 K Street), Ringside Second Hand Store (226 K Street),...
    • 1421
    • Themis

    • March 3, 1889
    • Founded and edited by a talented team of newspapermen, educators, lawyers with political savvy and clout, Themis was envisioned as a completely independent journal offering counsel and providing access to justice and law. A literary journal with...
    •  
    • ITT Technical Institute

    • 1997
    • ITT Technical Institute's newest campus, located at Gold Center Drive, is in the early phases of construction in this July 2, 1997, photograph. Primarily an engineering college with sixty-one campuses nationwide, ITT had another location in...
    • 1852
    • K Street, 214-218

    • 1960
    • The photograph is dominated by the Duke's Men's Wear sign painted on the curved facade of the building at 214 K Street. Automobiles are parked along the curb in front of the businesses: Star Hotel (218 K Street), Lafayette Card Room (218 K...
    • 1428
    • Alkali Flat House:  511 Eighth Street

    • 2002
    • This 2002 photograph shows a home at 511 Eighth Street, in the Alkali Flat neighborhood of Sacramento. Emerging after a November 1852 fire that destroyed 70 percent of the city, Alkali Flat stands as Sacramento's oldest residential neighborhood,...
    • 2269b
    • 214-226 K Street

    • 1960
    • This photograph, taken circa 1960, shows a row of businesses along K Street, including the Ring Side Second Hand Store (226 K Street), the International Pharmacy (224 K Street), the El Sombrero Restaurant (222 K Street), Hotel Lal (222? K Street),...
    • 842
    • Themis

    • April 14, 1889
    • Founded and edited by a talented team of newspapermen, educators, lawyers with political savvy and clout, Themis was envisioned as a completely independent journal offering counsel and providing access to justice and law. A literary journal with...
    •  
    • Themis

    • March 10, 1889
    • Founded and edited by a talented team of newspapermen, educators, lawyers with political savvy and clout, Themis was envisioned as a completely independent journal offering counsel and providing access to justice and law. A literary journal with...
    •  

QuickView

Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail
 

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK