Skip to main content

Sacramento Room Digital Collections Banner

You've searched: All Collections

  • All fields: 1952
(51 results)

Display: 20

    • Fritz Kaminsky

    • 1952
    • Fritz Kaminsky, Sacramento City Police Chief, is pictured in this 1952 portrait. A native of Sacramento, Kaminsky was first employed as a secretary to the chief of police on November 18, 1923. Through the years, however, he rose through the ranks...
    • 1132
    • Country Club Centre

    • 1952
    • This 1952 photograph reveals the parking lot of the Country Club Centre. In the distance is a notably uncluttered intersection of El Camino and Watt avenues. Opening in late-summer 1952 with over 100,000 residents in a five-mile radius, the...
    • 1687
    • China Palace Restaurant

    • 1952
    • Taken in 1952, this photograph shows the China Palace Restaurant, located at 3022 L Street.
    • 402
    • Country Club Centre

    • 1952
    • This 1952 photograph shows several storefronts of the Country Club Centre. Anchor stores for the development include, to the left of the frame, a Lucky store, covering some 15,350 square feet of selling space, and, to the far right, the 23,000...
    • 1337
    • Johnson-Harris Service Station

    • 1952
    • Photograph, taken in 1952, of the Johnson-Harris Service Station (800 Alhambra) and Patterson Parts (810 Alhambra). In the 1955 Sacramento City Directory, Lester A. Johnson and Orville D. Harris are listed as proprietors of the service station.
    • 448
    • Hotel Marshall, 7th and L Streets

    • 1952
    • Sitting at 1122 L Street, in circa 1952, is the Hotel Marshall. Built as the Clayton in 1910, the 100-unit structure, changed ownership and its name to the New Clayton in the 1930s, then the Marshall, just at the beginning of the 1950s.
    • BBSAC467
    • Three-Dimensional Map of Folsom Lake Area

    • 1952
    • Taken on May 10, 1952, this photograph shows a three-dimensional rendition of the Folsom Lake area. The project was completed by inmates at the Folsom State Prison on behalf of the Folsom Chamber of Commerce. In addition to Folsom Lake, prominent...
    • 1363
    • Exterior of Colonial Heights Library

    • 1952
    • Shown from the northwest, in circa 1952, is the Colonial Heights Branch of the Sacramento Public Library. Based in the a former residence at 4201 Fifty-Fourth Street, the location operated as a library from 1949 to 1957.
    • PH-SPL-CHS-1-2
    • Chargins Automart

    • 1952
    • A 1952 view of 15th Street at K, with Chargins Automart at 1531 K Street and the Stop-N-shop Market at 1330-16th Street. Founded in 1931, Chargins ran an advert in a 1947 issue of the Sacramento Bee claiming "The car is blue, the grass is green,...
    • 1560
    • This is Breuner's 96th Year of Saying Merry Christmas

    • 1952
    • Pictured in circa 1952 is a portion of window displays at Breuner's Furniture at 600 K Street. So much a part of Sacramento's twentieth-century Holiday Season tradition, the practice started in 1934. With display themes changing yearly,...
    • BBSAC825
    • Esquire Theater Marquee for “Steel Town”

    • 1952
    • The marquee for the Esquire Theater on 1219 K Street promotes the movie “Steel Town” in this March 1952 photograph. The marquee and neon lighting were products of Sacramento’s branch of the Electrical Products Corporation. Below the marquee is...
    • 684
    • Gibson Bus Lines Depot

    • 1952
    • Pictured in 1952 is the front of the Gibson Bus Lines depot at 1117 I Street. Four buses can be seen at the terminal, one bound for Chico and another for San Francisco. Built in 1944, the 33, 000 square foot structure operated as a bus depot until...
    • 133
    • McKesson and Robbins Drug Factory

    • 1952
    • Pictured in 1952 is the recently completed McKesson and Robbins warehouse at the corner of Richards Boulevard and Seventh Street. Opened in the fall of 1950 and costing nearly $1,000,000, the facility was designed by the accomplished Sacramento...
    • 153
    • Wallis Apartments

    • 1952
    • The haggard Wallis Apartments, at 1300 Ninth Street, are shown in this July 1952 photograph. The 21-unit building, sitting on the southwest corner of Ninth Street and Capitol Avenue, was built before 1895 and expanded prior to 1915. It was razed...
    • 2439
    • Sacramento Bee building

    • 1955
    • Pictured in circa 1955, at the corner of Twenty-First and Q, are the plant and offices of the “Sacramento Bee” newspaper. The building was opened in spring 1952, boasting 200,000 square-feet in work space and claiming the equivalent of two...
    • 1739
    • Close-up of O’Neil Brothers Service Station

    • 1933
    • This closer view of gas pumps and service garages at the O’Neil Brothers Service Station at Thirteenth and L Streets was captured on May 12, 1933. In spite of its founders, Joseph and John O’Neil, dying during the 1940s, the company surged to five...
    • 145
    • Preparing Grapes for Canning at Bercut-Richards Packing Company

    • 1952
    • Professional promotional photograph taken in 1952 of women preparing grapes for canning inside Bercut-Richards Packing Company. The workers stand on either side of conveyor belts selecting and setting aside what would find it's way to the customer....
    • 1203
    • Women Preparing Tomatoes for Canning

    • 1952
    • This 1952 photograph shows several workers preparing tomatoes for canning at the Bercut-Richards Packing Company, located on Seventh Street at Richards Boulevard.
    • 1205


Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search