Skip to main content

You've searched: All Collections

  • All fields: Abandoned Structures
(75 results)



Display: 20

    • Mel's Service Station

    • 1960
    • Mel's, an abandoned service station at 1215 Second Street, bears the legend "Moved to 7451 Auburn Boulevard" hand-painted on the garage door. The gas pumps are still in place and a car is parked near the pumps and there are several cars parked...
    • 1378
    • Third Street, 1122 through 1128

    • 1960
    • This circa 1960 photograph reveals a derelict and abandoned group of storefronts on Third Street, between K and L Streets.
    • 689
    • Seventh Street:  1014 and 1014A

    • 1960
    • The vacant storefronts of Bill's Barber Shop at 1014A Seventh Street and Hing Kee Laundry at 1014 Seventh Street are shown in this 1960 photograph.
    • 715
    • Samuel Brannan Building

    • 1960
    • Captured in 1960, this photograph reveals the Samuel Brannan Building, built in 1853, at 1007 through 1009 Front Street. It was at this same spot - in February 1849 and at the southeast corner of J and Front Streets - that Brannan built a...
    • 1579
    • Building on Eighth and K Streets after Fire

    • 2003
    • This digital image of a burned out Leroy’s Jewelers was taken on the evening of December 29, 2003. The building caught fire in May 2000, exacting over 150,000 dollars in damage and drawing a three alarm response of over 45 firefighters. Up to...
    • 2294a
    • J Street:  624 through 626

    • 1960
    • This circa 1960 photograph shows the facade of the C. H. Krebs and Company building, housing the Capital Hotel at 626 J Street, a single room and Eli Jeweler at 624 J Street.
    • 137
    • Sixth Street:  1008 through 1018

    • 1960
    • This dormant section of Sixth Street, between J and K Streets, was photographed in 1960. The Yee Pharmacy at 1008 Sixth Street, Sacramento Hat Works at 1010 Sixth Street, the Stewart Hotel at 1012 Sixth Street, the Keystone Cafe at 1014 Sixth...
    • 1678
    • Baggage Room Closed

    • 1970
    • A sign posted next to the door of a baggage room reads: CLOSING APRIL 18, 1969 All Baggage That is Overdue Can be Picked Up At ACME TRANSFER & STORAGE 1009 14th ST SACTO.
    • 1931
    • Second Street:  908

    • 1970
    • What had been the home to Joe's Baggage Room at 908 Second Street sits haggard and vacant in this circa 1970 photograph.
    • 1564c
    • Second Street:  908 through 914

    • 1970
    • Taken in circa 1970, this color photograph reveals the western strech of Second Street, between I and J Streets. The pictured buildings are vacant, awaiting a an earnest effort by the City of Sacramento and other players to develop a 28-acre...
    • 1564f
    • Capital Glass Company

    • 1960
    • Photograph of the Capital Glass Company at 614 J Street, taken in 1960. Operated by Bruce Hendon, the business offered "Any Size, Any Kind, Made to Order Plate Glass." A public scale is visible on the left-hand side of the photograph.
    • 340
    • Second Street:  908 through 914

    • 1970
    • Shown in this circa 1970 photograph, on the west side of Second Street, is the Hotel Enterprise at 914 Second Street. Built in circa 1880, the building was originally the home to Hall, Luhrs and Company Wholesale Grocers, one of the first...
    • 1564d
    • Western Union Telegraph Company

    • 1960
    • Taken in 1960, this photograph shows the former Western Union Telegraph Company building, having operated from 1868 to 1938. Prior to that, the building, known as the Pioneer Telegraph Building, housed the California Telegraph Company from 1863...
    • 341
    • Hunter's Drugs

    • 1970
    • Photograph circa 1970 of Hunter's Drugs at 912 Second Street. Located near the end of downtown Sacramento at Second Street and I Street, this property housed hotels during the first part of the 1900's. In the 1950s and early 1960s employment...
    • 1565
    • Vacant Structure at Third and J Streets

    • 1960
    • This circa 1960 photograph shows J Street, between Third and Fourth Streets. The white-washed structure was built in 1893, but vacant at the time of the photograph. Also visible are the Charleston Hotel at 301 J Street, Mike's Barber Shop at 305...
    • 947
    • Second Street:  1127 through 1131

    • 1960
    • This 1960 photograph shows the vacant homes of what were La Copa de Leche Restaurant at 1127 Second Street and the Big Mug Cafe at 1131 Second Street.
    • 1520
    • The Coffee Cup Restaurant

    • 1960
    • Pictured in circa 1960, at 1215 Third Streetm is the Coffee Cup Restaurant. A Coca Cola sign is mounted over the entrance to the cafe. An empty store front with a torn awning appears next door. A painted advertisement for Henry's Grocery can be...
    • 627
    • J Street, 612-618

    • 1960
    • This view of vacant stores displays signs identifying the Rancho Grande Restaurant (612 J Street), Capital Glass Company (614 J Street), Al & Ray's Music Store (616 J Street), and Star Barber Shop (618 J Street). An automobile is parked at the...
    • 925
    • Sixth Street:  1022 through 1026

    • 1960
    • This photograph, taken in circa 1960, reveals a portion of Sixth Street. Businesses included are Harry's Clothing at 1022 Sixth Street, the Sixth & K Grocery at 1024 Sixth Street, the Stadion Cafe and Greek Lodge at 1024 Sixth Street, and the...
    • 1679
    • Third Street, 1206 through 1210

    • 1960
    • This circa 1960 photograph captues both the Hotel Nishi at 1206 Third Street and the Hotel Jefferson at 1210 Third Street. The upper floor of an empty apartment at 1208-and-a-half Third Street is uninhabitable.
    • 629

QuickView

Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail
 

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK