Skip to main content

Sacramento Room Digital Collections Banner

You've searched: All Collections

  • All fields: Menus
(38 results)

Display: 20

    • Kost's Buffet & Grill, Small Menu

    • 1940
    • Shown is a circa 1940 menu for Kost's Buffet and Grill, located at 1630 J Street. The restaurant was opened in 1898 by German-born brew master turned saloonkeeper, John Kost. Kost died in 1918, leaving the business to his son, John, Jr.
    • La Rosa Restaurant

    • 1940
    • This circa 1940 menu represents the La Rosa Restaurant, located at 813 L Street. Opened in 1928 by Italian immigrants Angelina and Luis Folatti, the spot closed its doors in 1958.
    • High Lights, 1931

    • 1931-01-01
    • A canny businessman and idealistic philanthropist, David Lubin and his brother-in-law Harris Weinstock made Weinstock-Lubin the Sacramento area’s best-known and most popular mercantile establishment for over a century. By the time of his death in...
    • Mansion Inn

    • 1960
    • Shown is a circa 1960 menu for the Mansion Inn, located at the northwest corner of Sixteenth and H streets. Opening in 1958, the 51-unit motor court was designed by the local architectural firm of Dreyfuss and Blackford.
    • Renaissance Roma

    • 1995
    • This circa 1995 menu shows the offerings of the Renaissance Roma restaurant, located at Eighth and K streets. The Mediterranean-style eatery opened in 1991 and closed in 1999.
    • The Review, June 1912

    • 1912-06-01
    • Sacramento High School is located at 2315 Thirty-Fourth Street in Sacramento, California. Founded just one week after San Francisco’s Lowell High School opened its doors in mid-August 1856, “Sac High” has matured into the second oldest high school...
    • Tan Tan Cafe

    • 1955
    • Shown is a circa 1955 cocktail menu for the Tan Tan Café, located at 1010 Tenth Street. The restaurant was known for its steaks which were ordered from the diagram of a cow which hung from the eatery's wall. It was a favorite spot of judges,...
    • Capitol Tamale Cafe

    • 1950
    • Shown is a circa 1950 menu for the Capitol Tamale Café, located at 1116 Tenth Street. A popular destination for nearby legislators, the establishment operated from 1917 until 1984 when it was destroyed by fire.
    • The Chuck Wagon

    • 1950
    • Shown is a circa 1950 menu for the Chuck Wagon restaurant, located at the Town and Country shopping center at Fulton and Marconi avenues. The spot was opened in 1947 by Don Jacobs and Gene Ray for an investment of 32,000 dollars.
    • Capone's Chicago Tea Room and Pizza Joint

    • 1975
    • Shown is a circa 1970 menu for Capone's Chicago Tea Room and Pizza Joint, located at 1970 Fulton Avenue. The creative concept restaurant was opened in 1960 by the ten 24-year-old Victor Mikulin. Sacramento's Molly Ringwald was known to sing while...
    • The Sutter Confectaurant

    • 1940
    • Shown is a circa 1940 menu for the Sutter Confectaurant, located at 1011 K Street. Founded in 1914, the spot closed in 1931, with the Sutter's bakery department being absorbed by the nearby Hart's Lunch.
    • China Tea Garden

    • 1940
    • Shown is a circa 1940 menu for the China Tea Garden restaurant, located at 907 Sixth Street. The establishment was owned by Edward L. Kripp, who also owned the adjacent Dreamland dance hall, earning that area on Sixth Street, between J and I...
    • Thomas Cafe of Sacramento

    • 1910
    • This circa 1910 menu shows the offerings of Thomas' Café, located at Sixth and K streets. Its namesake, William O. Thomas came to Sacramento in 1911, running the café until 1914, at which time the Montana native went on to pursue a career in...
    • Cocktail Hour Menu for Tiny's Waffle Shop

    • 1945
    • Shown is a circa 1945 cocktail menu for Tiny's Waffle Shop, located at 905 K Street. Established in the mid-1930s, the spot was operated by Art Nyberg and gained notoriety with military personnel from both McClellan and Mather fields.
    • Tony Baloney's

    • 1970
    • Shown is a circa 1970 menu for Tony Baloney's restaurants, founded in 1963 by Massachusetts-native Anthony "Tony Baloney" Recchia. Recchia got his start in the business after making sandwiches for colleagues, while working at Aerojet. The last of...
    • Travelers Hotel

    • 1918
    • Shown is a 1918 menu for the Travelers Hotel, located at the southwest corner of Fifth and J streets. Built in 1914 as a state-of-the-art facility, the structure lived through the twentieth-century and into the twenty-first.


Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search