Skip to main content

Sacramento Room Digital Collections Banner

You've searched: All Collections

  • All fields: Sacramento’s
(1289 results)

Display: 20

    • Hiram P. Albert Photograph Album

    • 1918-1948
    • This photographic album is from the Betty Jane Powell family papers (MC 25). Created, arranged, and annotated by Powell’s uncle, Hiram Paul Albert, it provides a panoramic window into both the life of Albert and the transformation of Sacramento...
    • MC 25 Box 2/5
    • Camp Sacramento Tug-O-War

    • 1928
    • Camp Sacramento is the setting for this 1928 tug-o-war challenge on the South Fork of the American River. The municipally-operated site has been a presence in Sacramento’s recreational heritage since 1920. During the season that this photograph...
    • 738
    • Sacramento Business and Professional Women’s Club Portrait

    • 1958
    • Several members of Sacramento’s Business and Professional Women’s Club pose in this 1958 photograph. Founded in 1919, the group sought to elevate the standards for women in business and the professions, thereby promoting the overall economic,...
    • 2292
    • Store News Weinstock-Lubin & Co.

    • July 30, 1923
    • David Lubin and his half-brother Harris Weinstock combined efforts in 1875 and opened The Mechanics Store and within a few years their outstanding stock, fixed prices and fair dealing placed them among the top merchants in Sacramento. In 1888 the...
    • Sacramento High School's Girls' Riding Club

    • 1931
    • Shown on June 2, 1931, is a group portrait of the eighteen member Sacramento High School Girls' Riding Club. The group later changed its name to Merrie Mounted. Miss Beth Hightower and Mrs. Dorothy Barber organized the class in 1930; half of the...
    • 1725
    • Sacramento's Fiftieth Anniversary from the M Street Bridge

    • 1909
    • This April 24, 1909, photograph captures activity on the M Street Bridge during the celebration of Sacramento’s fiftieth anniversary. The picture was taken from the west side or West Sacramento side of the bridge, looking east. In the distance,...
    • 114
    • Archery at Land Park

    • 1930
    • Shown on May 31, 1930, several cloche-topped female archers participate in the Western Archery Association’s first annual tournament at William Land Park. The event included roughly 100 archers from throughout the American West. Sacramento’s...
    • 1660a
    • Sacramento Raley Field

    • 2000
    • Shown in 2000 is West Sacramento's Raley Field, home of the Pacific Coast League's Sacramento Rivercats. The 40 million dollar venue's 2000 opening marked the return of professional baseball to the Capitol region after a 25 year absence. The sale...
    • BBSAC759
    • Old Sacramento - Scope Enterprises

    • 2000
    • This circa 2000 scene provides a window into Old Sacramento's Gold Rush Days, the annual rehabilitation of Sacramento's 49er roots. Visible upon dirt-covered streets are wagons and coaches on Second Street between J and K streets. Prominent...
    • BBSAC535
    • K Street, 627-719

    • 1961
    • This 1961 photograph takes in three venerable examples of mid-to-late nineteenth century Sacramento architecture; left to right, the Golden Eagle Hotel, built between 1853 and 1860, the Post Office, built between 1890 and 1894, and the Ochsner...
    • 1416
    • P. Scheld

    • 1885
    • Shown is an 1885 billhead from Philip Scheld's Sacramento Brewery, which he founded in 1853. The German-born Scheld went on to become one of Sacramento's most lucrative bankers, eventually becoming president of the Sacramento Bank.
    • EC-BUS-b01f08i05
    • The Flamingo Motel - Rory Foster

    • 1963
    • This 1963 postcard shows West Sacramento's 21-unit Flamingo Motel at 920 West Capitol Avenue. In the 1968 Sacramento phonebook, the motel claimed to have "one of Sacramento's finest" heated swimming pools. It also boasted "courtesy coffee,...
    • BBSAC450
    • Forty-niners (49ers) Club

    • 1922
    • March 23rd through 28th of 1922 meant the "Days of '49" celebration, a city-wide homage to Sacramento's Gold Rush past. Pictured are members of the Whiskerino Club, a few of the hundreds of Sacramentans who let their mustaches grow for the...
    • 1003
    • Water Pumping Station

    • 1950
    • This March 13, 1950, photograph shows the water pumping station for Sacramento’s water filtration plant. Located just north of the city, and constructed in 1924, the pump was designed to slowly take water in by gravity, transferring it then to the...
    • 973
    • Leed’s Shoes Sign

    • 1936
    • Pictured on March 20, 1936, are the bustling locations of Leed’s Shoes and Lewis’s Women’s Apparel at 814 and 812 K Street, respectively. Leed’s had been at the pictured location since the fall of 1934, helping up to 100 of Sacramento’s...
    • 456
    • Mural Dedication in Rubble

    • 2003
    • Taken on December 30, 2003, this photograph shows a dedication board for a mural that covered what had been Leroy’s Jewelers at the southeast corner of Eighth and K Streets. A victim of fire three years earlier, the building was razed the same day...
    • 2294c
    • A Sacramento Saga

    • 1946
    • This 1946 brochure is one of 3,000 printed to promote the Sacramento Chamber of Commerce's history "A Sacramento Saga," written by Sacramento Union news writer Myrtle Shaw Lord. Covering the chamber's first 50 years, the book sold for three dollars...
    • EC-CHA-b01f02i01


Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search