Skip to main content

You've searched: All Collections

  • All fields: weathered
(12 results)



Display: 20

    • Town and Country Village Shopping Center

    • 1948
    • This November 14, 1948, photograph shows the Town and Country Village, located at the intersection of Fulton and Marconi avenues. A brainchild of contractor, Jere Strizek, the open air shopping center opened in 1946 and, by 1951, was home to 73...
    • 683
    • I Street

    • 1960
    • This circa 1960 photograph features a fenced vacant lot with barbed wire on the top of a corrugated metal fence. The Causeway Garage is identified by a faded, painted sign on the bricks over a weathered wooden door. There is a large hole in the...
    • 776
    • The Review, 1927

    • 1927-01-01
    • Sacramento High School is located at 2315 Thirty-Fourth Street in Sacramento, California. Founded just one week after San Francisco’s Lowell High School opened its doors in mid-August 1856, “Sac High” has matured into the second oldest high...
    •  
    • Town and Country Village Shops

    •  
    • This 50s-era postcard reveals the flora adorning the Town and Country shopping mall at Fulton and Marconi Avenues. Built in 1946 under the imaginative eye of contractor Jere Strizek, the weathered and semi-arid face of the development met his...
    • BBSAC782
    • The Sacramento Weekly and Alta California

    • December 11, 1909
    • Sacramento Weekly & Alta California was published Saturdays from October 16, 1909 to July 29, 1911 by the Sacramento Weekly and Alta Publishing Co. Managing Editor Evander B. Willis was a high-ranking member of the Masonic Order with newspaper...
    •  
    • East of Second Street

    • 1959
    • A weathered sign hangs over 205 J Street reading, "Jack Zim, 1 Man Alaska Bargain Store." The entry door is open and two men appear to be engaged in conversation just outside. Lettering on the windows shows that the store sells tents, camping...
    • 977
    • The Hub Hotel and Tavern

    • 1957
    • Taken in 1957, this photograph shows the weathered facades of the Hub Hotel and Tavern at 224 J Street and the Lincoln Room at 226 J Street. The building housing the Hub was erected by wholesale merchant and Kentuckian Edward P. Figg after the...
    • 19
    • Second Street:  1004 through 1006

    • 1960
    • A weathered B.F. Hastings building is the backdrop for this circa 1960 photograph. Two automobiles are parked at the curb and a group of men stand talking behind automobiles. A single person is crouched in a doorway to the left.
    • 1368
    • The Review, June 1919

    • 1919-06-01
    • Sacramento High School is located at 2315 Thirty-Fourth Street in Sacramento, California. Founded just one week after San Francisco’s Lowell High School opened its doors in mid-August 1856, “Sac High” has matured into the second oldest high...
    •  
    • Echoes from S. J. A., 1928

    • 1928-01-01
    • The arrival of the Sisters of Mercy from San Francisco in 1857 began a tradition of education that served Sacramento for over a century. Commercial and traditional subjects along with lessons in musical instruments were the courses taught at St....
    •  
    • Van Voorhies-Phinney Saddlers

    • 1960
    • This pre-redevelopment photograph, taken in 1960, shows the weathered façade, complete with horse busts, of the Van Voorhies-Phinney building at 322 through 324 J Street. The three-story building was constructed in 1882 to serve one of the...
    • 278
    • The Review, March 1916

    • 1916-03-01
    • Sacramento High School is located at 2315 Thirty-Fourth Street in Sacramento, California. Founded just one week after San Francisco’s Lowell High School opened its doors in mid-August 1856, “Sac High” has matured into the second oldest high...
    •  

QuickView

Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail
 

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK